I have some New Year’s resolutions to get busy with/on. So why am I writing and not attacking the resolution list with the energy of a new era???

before i do anything requiring long bouts of energy and/or concentration, I will most likely have to wait until whatever virus I now have vacates the premises – this is one of those nasty ones that people usually fear (no, not MRSA, most likely C.diff. – but since we can’t get anyone from our doc’s office to care enough to call us back so I can get at least a half-assed telediagnosis and a confirmation of what this is, i figure maybe the pathologist that performs my autopsy will figure it out. I’m so positive sometimes.

I have all these happy, fun, plans for doing things this glorious new year. But, I get smacked with a lupus flare, complicated by a sinus/bronchial infection, which I was nice enough to pass on to the hubby. In turn, when he could hardly breathe, he trekked to our PCP, where he was given a scrip for Augmentin, and got one for me as well! oh boy!

Well, it certainly augmented my body. Random and extremely itchy rashes and flushing on one side of my face, cold sweats and hot flashes with uncontrollable deep shivering, all layered upon a body with deep and stabbing pains in every joint. Even my long-closed fontanelles seared with pain. I slept on couches in the public rooms at Disney’s Beach Club Resort all day Friday. My head pain was indescribable, stabbing, loud crackling moments (yes, my pain is accompanied by sound events now) that take away my vision, slam my ears shut and evoke a yelp of pain, fear, and sheer surprise. Though since the pains came with a certain frequency, you would think the element of surprise would abate. It has now been three days of pain and crap. Literally.

The worst symptom of this “side/effect” started at 39,000 ft in what was the smallest airline restroom in existence. I was sure rows 30-49 heard everything.

From that point on, my memory is very sparse and unreliable. I just know I didn’t eat much more than a saltine or two and slept in various locations in the condo, in search of a spot that would balance out the hot/cold/sweating/shivering.

I have spent the past 20 hrs canceling appts that I had but cannot get to because I can’t focus, even with my glasses. Also, I am quite drained, living sans food since New Years eve, and of course, those short yet explosive head pains. None of these things make driving a good idea.

Things could be worse. A teacher from my husband’s school dropped dead of a major cardiac event. 32 yrs old. another friend lost a beloved pet. an acquaintance lost several family members in a terrorist attack in Eqypt.

Happy?? New Year?
it depends on your perspective.

